WhatsApp Now Lets You Delete Messages So Recipients Can’t See Them

This feature will definitely save many from trouble.

WhatsApp Now Lets You Delete Messages So Recipients Can’t See Them

In our everyday life, there come situations when we send a message to someone and wish to retract it, probably because of a typo or some other error, or maybe because it was sent to the wrong person.

The inability to delete messages from the recipient’s end, has put a lot of people in avoidable trouble. Many people out there are dying to get a feature as this, to be able to retract messages that have already gone through.

Read Also: Instagram Now Lets You Livestream With A Friend

Of course, for a while now, WhatsApp has had the option to delete messages on your end, but the messages have always remained at the recipient’s end.

With the latest WhatsApp update, however, you can now delete messages for yourself and for the person or group it was sent to, as long as the delete falls under the terms stipulated by WhatsApp (I will list the terms at the end of this article).

Steps To Take To Delete A WhatsApp Message From The Receiver’s End

In order to delete for everyone, you have to follow these steps:

  1. Open WhatsApp and go to the chat which contains the message you want to delete.
  2. Press and hold the particular message.
  3. Tap the trash icon that comes up at the top of the screen.
  4. Select “Delete for everyone”.

See screenshot from WhatsApp’s FAQ Section:

WhatsApp Now Lets You Delete Messages So Recipients Can’t See Them

 

After you delete a message for everyone, the message on your end will change to “You deleted this message”, while the message on the recipient’s end will be replaced by “This message was deleted”.

Terms under which you can delete for everyone

  • You must be on the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone, and so must the recipient. If either of you is not using the latest version, then this feature will not work.
  • You have just seven minutes to delete a message for everyone. If you send a message and you wish to retract it, it must be done within seven minutes of sending the message. After seven minutes, the message remains on the recipient’s end for as long as they want.

Conclusion

While this may seem like a very useful feature, it does not change the fact that screenshots can be taken. Of course, before you delete a message, the recipient could have taken a screenshot of it. Unless you delete the message immediately after you sent it, maybe. However, it is still a pretty useful feature, and can save us from some trouble.

The “Delete for everyone” feature is not yet available for everyone. It is available on WhatsApp beta version. It should be making its way to more and more devices over the next few days. Be at watch to know when it lands on your device, so that you can make use of it to the fullest.
Loading...

Let us know what you think

Copy Protected by Chetan's WP-Copyprotect.